Are there monkeys in your country? あなたの国に猿はいますか?

I heard somewhere, maybe it was a podcast, that wild monkeys are not in Australia.
Oh…I didn’t know that, but is it really? There are monkeys in most mountains in Japan, and they are familiar to Japanese people. So I was very surprised by that. Moreover, monkeys are the most similar animals to humans, aren’t they? I thought monkeys were everywhere in the world.
So I asked my friend Chris in Australia for confirmation.
“Are there any monkeys in Australia?”

Her answer was that there are no monkeys in Australia, except in zoos.
Well, the information I heard was correct. I had to believe that and started searching the Internet to find out why.
Then I found new information that there are no wild monkeys in Europe either! Chris also did not know that, so we both were surprised.😳

As I wrote earlier, monkeys are very familiar to me, so it was out of the blue.
Umm, there may be other countries without monkeys.

Hey you guys! Are there monkeys in your country?
If not, do you know the reason?

野生の猿はオーストラリアにはいないという話を、ポッドキャストだったかな、どこかで聞いたことがあります。
へー、知らなかった。。でもホントかな?日本のほとんどの山には猿がいて、日本人には馴染みがあるんですよ。だから、とても驚きました。しかも、猿は人間に一番似ていますよね。世界中のどこにでもいると思っていました。
そこで、オーストラリアにいる友達のクリスに確認しました。
“オーストラリアに猿はいるの?”

彼女の答えは、オーストラリアには動物園以外に猿はいないとの事でした。
そっか、私が聞いた情報は正しかったらしい。そう信じるしかない私は、その理由を調べるためにインターネットで検索を始めました。
すると、ヨーロッパにも野生のサルはいない、という新しい情報を見つけたのです!これはクリスも知らなかったようで、二人でビックリしました。😳

先ほども書いたように、私にとってサルはとても身近な存在で、青天の霹靂です。
うーん、他にもサルのいない国があるかもしれないなぁ。。

ねぇねぇ!あなたの国には猿がいますか?
いない場合、その理由、わかります?